top of page

Lurking Dragon behind the door...

Hi All,

I have had this idea for this door for awhile and finally, I just stopped and hid away in my studio...

And pleased to say it worked out...

I used Makin's Clay® Push Molds - Border for the pillars on either side of the door, to give it an Old World look... these mold are easy to use. One of my favorite features of these molds are that they are see though, so you can see if you have filled the mold correctly without air bubbles and filled all the nooks and crannies.

http://www.makins-usa.com/

Another feature of this door that I loved creating was the hand painted the dragon eye with acrylic paints. I layered the colours around the pupil, using gold, green and a touch of red to give it a fearce look to the eye.

I hid this eye sculpture behide the door window, with it's bars, to make it look as if a dragon was trapped behind it...

Would you dare open this door?

25 views0 comments
bottom of page